Your Welcome

Had this idea last week, noticed it at the domestic terminal train stop so it has merit.

Wheresoever people shall wait on the behest of the government, there shall be wi-fi, freely available for the public’s discretion. Queensland Transport’s waiting line being a priority customer.

And it could work in other scenarios. Doctors and dentist offices could provide free wi-fi so patients, while waiting, could Google their symptoms and offer suggestions to trained medical staff.

Airports offer wi-fi but it is not free and frankly that’s a travesty. Particularly when they expect you to arrive at least 30 minutes prior to boarding.

And hairdressers as well because both them and doctors buy their Woman’s Day from the same second-hand bookstore, I’m sure.

2 Comments

  1. I endorse this plan wholeheartedly. In fact, I read Cory Doctorow’s book “Someone comes to town, someone leaves town,” wishing that I could do what they did. (If you haven’t read it, they set up repeaters all over the city, to blanket it with free wifi.)

    One of the things that made me fall in love with AFK Cafe was when Jason (the owner) brought me my coffee, he noticed I had my PDA out, and told me they had free wifi. Now, I already knew about this, it being one of the main reasons I’d decided to visit, but I was still rather impressed that I didn’t have to ask about it. That, and it was actually *open*.

    I really want to get some of the stuff from Meraki. I’d love to live in the city, and be able to provide free wifi to people in need. Of course, it’d be even better if I didn’t need to.

Leave a Reply

